Thank You Google, and Working From Home

With Covid still looming large in the US, the major tech companies are continuing or expanding their work from home allowance. More then that, many of the larger tech companies are allowing workers to take 12-14 weeks of paid carers leave so they can take care of their children during the absence of childcare services.

As a Googler, I’m getting a possible maximum of 14 weeks of carers leave as paid time off. First, I’m extremely grateful to Google for giving me this extra time off. I’ve taken every Tuesday/ Thursday off for the last 2 months, and will be taking every Tuesday/ Wednesday for the next 2 months.  That is 40 days (8 weeks) of paid time off that I’ve been allowed to spend with my daughter.

This is not suppose to be vacation time. While I’m playing with Lyra, my wife is doing her job. She teaches online (through UMass Boston), holds office hours, and prepares for her classes. During the week there is very little free time, and a 20 month old will take over any extra free time you may have.

The days when I work, I shut the door to my room (office) and do all of my work at my desk. Again, I am very grateful to Google for giving us 1000$ to upgrade our home office! It’s amazing how before the Covid outbreak Googlers were getting pessimistic about the company, but there is a massive amount of goodwill thanks to how they are handling this.

The saddest thing about shutting the door is hearing Lyra cry for Dada. If I’m in a meeting and she hears my voice, then all I hear at the door is “Dada, dada”. I don’t know what she thinks of me not being able to go and play with her, but it’s the saddest part of any workday.

I’m very proud to work for a company that takes such good care of it’s employees. When other people were losing their jobs, Google expanded benefits. When other companies canceled internships, Google worked with our internal resources to make our interns able to keep working.

I hope this goodwill keeps on after we all return to the office. I believe Sundar tries to do the right thing. Thank you!

img_20200527_211144

Leave a comment